4a Sandys Row, E1 7HW
Built as a Huguenot chapel in 1763, the building has been in continuous use as a synagogue since 1860 and retains many original features including the gallery. Oldest remaining Ashkenazi synagogue in London and third oldest in the country.
Aldgate East, Aldgate, Liverpool Street
Shoreditch High Street, Liverpool Street
100, 205, 42, 78, 135
Sandys Row Synagogue is the oldest Ashkenazi synagogue in London, and the last remaining synagogue in Spitalfields. ‘Once the heart of the Jewish East End and the home of its renaissance.’
The main synagogue building is almost 250 years old and Grade II Iisted. In 1763 a French Huguenot community purchased an old chapel and its freehold on this site on a corner of Henry VIII’s artillery ground. L’Eglise d’Artillerie was dedicated in 1766 and remained open until 1786, when it merged with the London Walloon Church. For the next fifty years, the church was let to several Baptist congregations, becoming known as Salem Chapel and then Parliament Court Chapel.
In 1854, 50 poor Dutch Ashkenazi Jewish families founded a chevrah, a type of Friendly Society with a small synagogue attached known as the ‘Society for loving-kindness and truth’. The first of its kind! By 1867, it had grown to five hundred members when it acquired the leasehold of the French chapel, having found a champion in the architect, Nathan Joseph. The site was particularly suitable because it had a balcony and was on an East-West axis, albeit facing westwards. Joseph blocked up the original entrances, which are still visible, and formed a new one in Sandys Row, together with a new three-storey building for offices and accommodation.
The community’s independent streak, which perhaps goes a long way to explaining its longevity, was first evidenced in 1870, when the leading Sephardi rabbi, Haham Benjamin Artom of nearby Bevis Marks Synagogue, formally consecrated this Ashkenazi place of worship.
The Chief Rabbi at the time, Nathan Marcus Adler, had publicly opposed the establishment of any new synagogue by the poor East End Ashkenazi migrant community and refused to be associated with it. In November 1887, Sandys Row Synagogue was the largest of the East End congregations that founded the Federation of Synagogues. It left the Federation in 1899 and was refurbished for the 50th anniversary of the community after acquiring its freehold, becoming an Associate of the United Synagogue in 1922. In 1949 it returned to independent status.
For many years the Synagogue acted as the secretariat of the Stepney and Whitechapel Street Traders’ Association, bringing together all the market traders from both Petticoat Lane and Whitechapel Markets.
Sandys Row Synagogue is committed to opening its doors, and sharing its stories and its unique, rich heritage with all sections of the community. Many groups arrange private visits. These include school groups and guided walking tours. In recent years we have hosted live music, community and heritage events. In 2015 with Spitalfields Church, Brick Lane Mosque and the Spitalfields Huguenot Society initiated the Festival of Immigration. In addition we participate in Jewish Heritage Open Days and Open House London.
Sandys Row Synagogue holds a wealth of artefacts, many of which originate from its early beginnings. Thanks to recent donations and support, some of them, including a framed paper plaque commemorating the 50 founding families, have been preserved for future generations.
How can architecture help us to understand a world in flux? We can use buildings as markers of change, seeing the impact of global economic shifts on local streets, the rise and fall of public housing, and the march of 'gentrification'.
historical house, livery hall
Coopers' Hall is a late 17th century, timber-framed merchant's house with a Georgian frontage. A Livery Hall since 1957, it features a fine Courtoom, dining room and an impressive staircase spiralling up the entire height of the building.
Nicholas Barbon, 1690
Drop in / Talk
Built originally as a pub (the Queen’s Head) circa 1825, at the time of parliament’s ‘road improvement scheme’, CDA’s 2016/17 renovations and extension of the building included restoration of the exterior brickwork, tiling and windows.
Join your tour guide for a tour of Hawksmoor’s finest church, Christ Church, Spitalfields, where we’ll unlock the history of this fascinating area and building, as well as learning a new skill; how to ‘read’ a church. Covering the controversial myth about Hawksmoor and the occult, the tour will explain the social context of the construction of this church and its architectural importance.
Nicholas Hawksmoor, 1729
Drop in / Guided tour
museum, community/cultural, art in the public realm, gallery
The Gilbert & George Centre was originally established as a registered charity by the artist in 2009 with the objective to advance the education of the public in the arts, and generally to advance the arts, architecture, heritage and culture for the benefit of the public.
SIRS Architects, 2022
Back to top of page