Guildhall Yard, Gresham Street, EC2V 7HH
On this walk we shall discover some of the livery companies, learn about their ancient traditions and ceremonies, which are repeated every year. Also hear about their important role in the City. Free walks led by City of London Guides
Bank, Moorgate, St. Paul's
11, 21, 76, 141
Please note: This is a walking tour; during this tour there are some uneven surfaces and steps.
There are over 100 livery companies in the City, comprising London's ancient and modern trade associations and guilds. These livery companies play a significant part in the life of the City of London, providing charitable-giving, supporting trade, education, charity and fellowship, Liverymen retain voting rights for the senior civic offices, such as the Lord Mayor and Sheriffs.
The City of London, also known as the Square Mile, is the financial district of London. It has been a centre for settlement, trade, commerce and ceremony since the Roman period, producing a unique historic environment of exceptional richness and significance. Only around 8000 residents live in just over one square mile. On weekdays more than half a million people work in the City. Additionally, it has 10m annual visitors. The City boundaries stretch from Temple to the Tower of London, on the River Thames including, from west to east Chancery Lane and Liverpool Street
walk/tour, public realm/landscape
Built on the site destroyed by The Blitz during the World War II, The Barbican Estate is a fascinating area and an icon of Brutalist architecture. Architects were Chamberlain, Powell and Bon, We will also visit several amazing gardens.
Chamberlain Powell and Bon, 1970
miscellaneous, sport, monument
UPDATED: Open daily 10.30am-4pm Closed Mon 19 September. Combined guided tours of Amphitheatre and Guildhall Art Gallery at 12.15pm & 1.15pm on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays & Sundays. The capital’s only known Roman Amphitheatre
Roman , 70
Founded by William the Conqueror's Archbishop Lanfranc in 1080 (the significant crypt survives) St Mary-le-Bow was rebuilt, notably by Wren after the Great Fire and by Laurence King in 1964 after WWII destruction. Home of Bow Bells.
Sir Christopher Wren, 1683
Back to top of page