G H Lewis of Linden and Lewis, 1852
Albert Road, South Norwood, SE25 4JD
410, 312, 197, 130
St Mark's is located at the junction of Albert Road and Coventry Road.
St Mark's is the oldest church in the area. It was built in 1852 (mainly by public subscription), with various Victorian additions and
alterations. A Grade 2 listed Victorian parish church built of Kentish
ragstone with a slate roof, St Mark's is noted for its
170-year history, and its long and continuing history of
service to its local community.
The building is particularly noted for its stained glass,
the unique Royal Doulton tiling beyond the altar, the
baptistry and the murals on its walls.
Drop in / Guided tour
theatre, entertainment, community/cultural, mixed use, concert/performance space
A public hall, theatre and gallery in grand Edwardian style. Grade II listed, Stanley made fun of the Victorian style with grand ornamentation. It reflects Stanley's interest in science, the arts and public cultural improvement.
William Ford Robinson Stanley, 1903
Drop in / Talk
The purpose-built library is a fine example of brutalist architecture. Built by Hugh Lea, Borough Architect for Croydon, in 1968 the main volume shows miesian influence with an abundance of natural light, interrupted by a concrete cuboid.
Hugh Lea , 1966
Back to top of page