Guildhall Yard, EC2V 7HH
On this walk we will see many historic & modern buildings. see different architecture styles having regard to the environment and sustainability, and hear about famous architects, past and present. Free walks led by City of London Guides
Mansion House, Cannon Street, Bank, Moorgate, St. Paul's
Moorgate, City Thameslink, Cannon Street
11, 21, 76, 141
Starting point is a short walking distance from the tube and train stations.
This is a walking tour. There are some uneven surfaces and steps during this tour.
On this walk we will view a mixture of historic and modern buildings in the old City of London. You will able to see several modern buildings with different architecture styles having regard to the environment and sustainability.
Free walks led by City Guides. Official Guides to the City of London
The tours will take place on Saturday 9th, Sunday 10th, Saturday 16th & Sunday 17th September.
This tour will run at following times on the above dates;
10.15 am, 11.15 am, 12.15 am, 1.15 pm and 2.15 pm
Tours will last around one hour 15 minutes.
The City of London, also known as the Square Mile, is the financial district of London.
It has been a centre for settlement, trade, commerce and ceremony since the Roman period, producing a unique historic environment of exceptional richness and significance.
Only around 8000 residents live in just over one square mile. On weekdays more than half a million people work in the City. Additionally, it has 10m annual visitors. The City boundaries stretch from Temple to the Tower of London, on the River Thames including, from west to east Chancery Lane and Liverpool Street
walk/tour, public realm/landscape
Built on the site destroyed by The Blitz during the World War II, The Barbican Estate is a fascinating area and an icon of Brutalist architecture. Architects were Chamberlain, Powell and Bon, We will also visit several amazing gardens.
Chamberlain Powell and Bon, 1970
miscellaneous, sport, monument
UPDATED: Open daily 10.30am-4pm Closed Mon 19 September. Combined guided tours of Amphitheatre and Guildhall Art Gallery at 12.15pm & 1.15pm on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays & Sundays. The capital’s only known Roman Amphitheatre
Roman , 70
Founded by William the Conqueror's Archbishop Lanfranc in 1080 (the significant crypt survives) St Mary-le-Bow was rebuilt, notably by Wren after the Great Fire and by Laurence King in 1964 after WWII destruction. Home of Bow Bells.
Sir Christopher Wren, 1683
Back to top of page