G. E. Street, 1874
Strand, WC2A 2LL
Street's masterpiece and one of Victorian London's great public buildings. 13C Gothic given a Victorian interpretation.
Temple, Holborn, Chancery Lane, Blackfriars, Embankment
Waterloo, Charing Cross, Blackfriars
11, 15, 26, 76, 341
Accessible Lift Access to first floor courtrooms.
Land was bought through slum clearance by the Crown in 1865. A competition for the Law Courts was held, from which no clear winner emerged. G E Street was appointed, with George Gilbert Scott, who soon resigned leaving Street as sole architect. Work began in 1874 and the building was opened in 1882 by Queen Victoria. Street had died the previous year, allegedly from the stress of the project. Further work on the building was completed by his son and Arthur Blomfield.
The overall aspect of the facade is of a 13th century Gothic townscape from a Book of Hours, a fantasy of turrets and towers, spires and pinnacles translated into Victorian reality. The entrance is beneath a giant arch at the end of the asymmetrical facade, with an arcaded bridge above. Inside, the litigant passes through an entrance lobby and the astonishing Great Hall, 230 ft long and 82 ft high. Street used 13th century Gothic forms – tall, stepped, lancet windows at the East End and sexpartite rib vaulting overhead.
The cathedral-like quality of the architecture, and the sheer scale, is awe-inspiring. The doorways have richly foliated stiff-leaf carved forms, the walls are decorated with diapering and the windows have geometric tracery. At each end are spiral stairs to the administrative parts of the building.
There is a monument to Street on the east side of the Great Hall, showing the architect seated above a frieze of artists and craftsmen.
Leaflets will be handed out for visitors to engage into a self guided tour of the building focusing on historical statues, paintings and particular parts of interest including the "Bear Garden" and the "Painted Room" .
A courtroom will run a series of "Mock Trials" for visitors to witness first hand the workings of a modern day courtroom
Question and Answer sessions will be run from a courtroom for visitors to engage with staff including an overview of the unique role of the Courts "Tipstaff"
The cells area and prisoner transportation vans will be on display for customers to interact with.
The costume display area will be open to visitors showcasing the clothing worn by the High Court Judiciary.
Court staff will also put on a display of Judicial clothing within a courtroom and engage in robing sessions with the public.
A Kids Corner will be open with interactive sessions including a treasure hunt, art and puzzle sessions.
An exhibition of Banners, showcasing 100 years of woman in the Judiciary.
The on site Café will be open from 10am until 3pm. providing hot and cold refreshments.
Prince Henry’s Room is located at 17 Fleet Street, one of the few buildings in the city that survived the 1666 London Great Fire. The room, on the first floor contains one of the best-preserved Jacobian-enriched plaster ceilings in London.
Architect unknown, 1610
library, garden, education, legal, institution/profession, mixed use
Lincoln’s Inn has been an association of barristers for over 600 years. An 11-acre site combining gardens with mediaeval, Victorian, Georgian, and modern buildings, including banqueting halls, a law library, a chapel, and teaching space.
A large multi-purpose building occupying a pivotal position at the southern corner of Lincoln’s Inn Fields. The building provides state of the art, flexible teaching spaces on the lower levels and faculty accommodation on the upper levels.
Grafton Architects, 2021
Completed in 1895, Two Temple Place is a dazzling neo-Gothic gem on the Victoria Embankment, designed by gothic revivalist architect, John Loughborough Pearson, & commissioned by & built for William Waldorf Astor, as his estate office.
John Loughborough Pearson , 1895
The creation of new public realm along Strand, south of Aldwych, has been described as the one of the best things to happen to London in years. It is an exemplar of what's possible when road space is reclaimed for people and for nature.
LDA Design - Landscape Architect, 2022
scientific, monument, walk/tour, art in the public realm
This new sundial faces East so gets only morning sun. It is 10 m. square and was opened in 2021, and is publicly accessible 24/7
Piers Nicholson, 2021
Back to top of page