Bank/Monument Complex, Princes St, EC3V 3LA
In 2023, Bank/Monument station completed a major upgrade that increased the station's capacity by 40%. Yet while much of the Bank/Monument complex is new, the station dates back over 100 years. This tour will showcase its history.
43, 25, 21, 141
Bank and Monument stations – a single operational unit today – were originally stations built by different companies.
The District Railway opened ‘Eastcheap’ station in October 1884, although the station’s name was changed to ‘The Monument’ a month after opening.
In 1898, the Waterloo & City Railway opened a station here known as ‘City’, as the line only ran between Waterloo station and the City of London.
The City and South London Railway – a forerunner of the Northern line – opened a station at King William Street in 1890. In February 1900, they closed this station and opened a new Bank station a short distance away. Later that year, the Central London Railway also began calling here.
In 1933, the Underground installed escalators to connect the
District and Circle lines at Monument with the Central and
Northern lines at Bank. In 1960, a similar connection was
established when the moving walkways known as ‘travelators’
were installed between the Waterloo & City line – then
operated by British Rail – and Bank station.
In 1991, the expansion of the Docklands Light Railway to Bank
meant that the City of London was now connected with the
emerging financial centre at Canary Wharf.
In 2023, a major renovation project at Bank station was completed. This project expanded capacity at Bank station by 40%, adding two new ticket halls, 12 new escalators, two new lifts, and more than 1000 metres of new tunnels. The renovation also resulted in the restoration of some existing heritage items, such as the Hutton Panels that formerly stood at Bucklersbury House and the fire insurance markers that are at the new Cannon Street entrance.
miscellaneous, sport, monument
UPDATED: Open daily 10.30am-4pm Closed Mon 19 September. Combined guided tours of Amphitheatre and Guildhall Art Gallery at 12.15pm & 1.15pm on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays & Sundays. The capital’s only known Roman Amphitheatre
Roman , 70
walk/tour, public realm/landscape
Built on the site destroyed by The Blitz during the World War II, The Barbican Estate is a fascinating area and an icon of Brutalist architecture. Architects were Chamberlain, Powell and Bon, We will also visit several amazing gardens.
Chamberlain Powell and Bon, 1970
Back to top of page