Camden Architects Department, Ken Adie, Peter Tábori, 1972
8 Stoneleigh Terrace, N19 5TY
Built during the golden era of Camden public housing under Borough Architect Sydney Cook. Peter Tábori studied with Ernő Goldfinger and worked with Denys Lasdun, and met Ken Adie when both were students at the Regent Street Polytechnic.
Unfortunately access is by stairs, half a storey down to the entrance, and 1 storey inside the flat
8 Stoneleigh Terrace is part of what was originally called Highgate New Town, Stage 1 and is now known as the Whittington Estate. It is a fine example of the designs produced by Camden Architects' Department under Borough Architect Sydney Cook. These belong to a brief golden era that grew out of the hopes and aspirations of the sixties when many architects fought for their belief that nothing was too good for social housing, using modern materials to create light-filled and exciting interior spaces.
273 dwellings were constructed, varying from one-bedroom two-person flats to a six-bedroom eight-person house.
The materials used were a substructure of in situ concrete; superstructure of load-bearing crosswalls; external walls of sand-coloured concrete blocks and precast concrete (mostly painted cream in 1995); all windows and joinery in stained timber.
8 Stoneleigh Terrace was designed as a four-person, two-bedroom maisonette. The interior planning shares many features with other Camden estates (especially Alexandra Road, which was designed and built at the same time).
The walls are divided into panels by storey-height doors articulated by stained-timber frames. Spaces can be opened into each other by means of double doors (between the hall and the living/dining area) and a sliding partition (between the kitchen and the living/dining area).
A fully-glazed wall, with heating concealed beneath a low wooden bench, separates the L-shaped living/dining area from the terrace. The bedrooms are below the living area, are of equal size and open onto a courtyard.
The internal window between the hall and the living area further dissolves the space (as well as providing borrowed light) and there is a large box room on the lower level.
Founded in 1861 by a group of French nuns, La Sainte Union has a rich history. See the original Georgian site, chapel and its 141-year-old organ, plus modern stained glass windows by Patrick Pollen, LSU’s own orchard and the 60s extension.
At Vertical Meadow we have developed two unique living wall solutions: Vertical Meadow Wrap and Vertical Meadow Cladding. Our aim is simple: to bring biodiversity into urban spaces, make construction greener and out cities more liveable.
Vertical Meadow (Alistair Law), 2022
An important example of 1960s comprehensive school design in the Brutalist style. Acland Burghley has recently received support from the National Lottery Heritage Fund for its ambitious ‘A Hall for All’ project and have welcomed in a resident orchestra, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in a collaborative partnership which is a UK-first.
Howell, Killick, Partridge & Amis Architects, 1966
Victorian/Arts and Crafts church completed in 20C. Imposing west front by J Harold Gibbons with statuary by Dorothy Rope. Lady chapel by Henry Wilson. Stained glass by Margaret Aldridge Rope. Fine Hunter organ plus case.
J. D. Sedding and J. Harold Gibbons, 1888
Highgate is three schools in one. Founded by Sir Roger Cholmeley, Lord Chief Justice of England, in 1565, Highgate is governed as a single charitable foundation.
Central Hall Claude Pemberton Leach 1899 , Junior School Architype 2016, Clarke Kidwell Architects, 1865
Back to top of page