scientific, monument, walk/tour, art in the public realm
Piers Nicholson, 2021
61 Fleet Street, EC4Y 1JU
This new sundial faces East so gets only morning sun. It is 10 m. square and was opened in 2021, and is publicly accessible 24/7
Temple, Chancery Lane, Blackfriars
341, 76, 26
The Fleet Street Heritage Proect has produced 80 information panels on the people, places, buildings and ideas which have shaped this iconic area. 25 of these panels are displayed at the Open House and all 80 are shown on our www.fleetstreetheritage.co.uk website (see below)
The Fleet street Heritage Sundial is a large vertical sundial on the wall of 61 Fleet Street at the corner of Bouverie Street. This wall had been completely blank from the 1950s until October 2021, when the sundial was opened by the Lady Mayoress. It now has a 10m x 10m east-facing sundial on it, which shows the tme until 11.30 andcommemorates some of the national newspapers which used to be published in the neighbourhood when Fleet Street was the centre of the newspaper industry. “The Republican” was actually published on this site.
Both projects were supported by the Corporation of London Neighbourhood Fund.
Piers Nicholson, who designed the sundial,will conduct a SundialQ&A (which can include any questions you would like to ask about this sundial or sundials generally) at 9,10 and 11 everey morning from 14 to 17 September. Piers is also in charge of the Heritage Project, and will have a Heriage Q&A at 12, 1 and 2 each day from 14 to 17 September.
All 80 pages of the Fleet Street Heritage Project are always available on the www.fleetstreetheritage.co.uk website; one of these pages is a Heritage Walk which will take you to all the main heritage locatons in the area.
The sundial is publicly accessible 24/7, so you can see it working on any sunny day between 7 and 11.30 am. Full details of the sundial and its history with videos of the construction, are available on the www.fleetstreetheritagesundial.uk website. Please also visit the Tylers and Bricklayers Millennium sundial on Pauls Walk, Blackfriars on the north side of the Thames (75 yards upstream from the Millennium Bridge).
This sensory walk explores the art of moving mindfully through urban space – focusing on the rhymes, rhythm, volumes, and voids that normally flow past unnoticed. We begin in Inner Temple and wander west to Somerset House, through Trafalgar Square, ending at the Royal Academy.
Prince Henry’s Room is located at 17 Fleet Street, one of the few buildings in the city that survived the 1666 London Great Fire. The room, on the first floor contains one of the best-preserved Jacobian-enriched plaster ceilings in London.
Architect unknown, 1610
institution/profession, theatre, library, education, community/cultural
Built in 1893 as a printers' institute in the Anglo-Dutch style, with sandstone dressings, steeply pitched tiled roof and gables; many original features remain including the swimming pool and library reading room.
Robert C. Murray, 1893
Join me on a walk through the architecture of entertainment and mass communication, exploring the stories behind a diverse range of iconic buildings and their role in asserting London's status as a globally connected, cultural powerhouse.
Completed in 1895, Two Temple Place is a dazzling neo-Gothic gem on the Victoria Embankment, designed by gothic revivalist architect, John Loughborough Pearson, & commissioned by & built for William Waldorf Astor, as his estate office.
John Loughborough Pearson , 1895
Back to top of page