Architect unknown, 1610
17 Fleet Street, EC4Y 1AA
Prince Henry’s Room is located at 17 Fleet Street, one of the few buildings in the city that survived the 1666 London Great Fire. The room, on the first floor contains one of the best-preserved Jacobian-enriched plaster ceilings in London.
Temple, Chancery Lane
76, 341, 26, 15
For access to the room, visitors will need to climb a small flight of stairs. There is a handrail.
Prince Henry’s Room is found at 17 Fleet Street, one other rare survivors of the 1666 Great Fire. As such, it comprises mesmerising architecture, its ceiling, constituting one of the best-preserved Jacobian enriched plaster ceilings. From the Templars' hands to Henry the VIII's, legends surrounding it, make this a mythical space too. Visitors will be able to discover the fascinating room accompanied by a guide along the way.
scientific, monument, walk/tour, art in the public realm
This new sundial faces East so gets only morning sun. It is 10 m. square and was opened in 2021, and is publicly accessible 24/7
Piers Nicholson, 2021
This sensory walk explores the art of moving mindfully through urban space – focusing on the rhymes, rhythm, volumes, and voids that normally flow past unnoticed. We begin in Inner Temple and wander west to Somerset House, through Trafalgar Square, ending at the Royal Academy.
Completed in 1895, Two Temple Place is a dazzling neo-Gothic gem on the Victoria Embankment, designed by gothic revivalist architect, John Loughborough Pearson, & commissioned by & built for William Waldorf Astor, as his estate office.
John Loughborough Pearson , 1895
library, garden, education, legal, institution/profession, mixed use
Lincoln’s Inn has been an association of barristers for over 600 years. An 11-acre site combining gardens with mediaeval, Victorian, Georgian, and modern buildings, including banqueting halls, a law library, a chapel, and teaching space.
institution/profession, theatre, library, education, community/cultural
Built in 1893 as a printers' institute in the Anglo-Dutch style, with sandstone dressings, steeply pitched tiled roof and gables; many original features remain including the swimming pool and library reading room.
Robert C. Murray, 1893
Back to top of page